The Teacher in His Hospital Bed

My platelet count is going down, I am not yet done with grades

My appetite has gone berserk, I am sure I’ve lost some weight

My sore throat has been stabbed a lot, I can’t swallow, I can’t sing

My skin is now a mestizo’s, red blotches, pink freckles

I am now officially hot, 39 degrees give, take

But all I want to do right now,
is to start getting well fast

I miss my bed, I miss my books,
I miss everything I own

My health, friends,family,students, to everyone my heart belongs.

6 thoughts on “The Teacher in His Hospital Bed

Leave a Reply

