Mentoring the Mentors

There is hope. We just have to uplift teaching as a profession and inspire others that though it isn’t a lucrative job (there are more than enough people who have lucrative jobs anyway) this country desperately needs teachers and quality ones at that, not just teachers who teach to get by.

This year, I have been blessed with a lot of opportunities to have given talks and lectures on pedagogical storytelling and have presented  literature-based teaching demonstrations in different schools and institutions, and last Sunday, I have been blessed yet again to fly to Iloilo with a team of professionals and experts under the Mentoring the Mentors Program (MMP) to give a three-day seminar workshop to preschool and daycare workers.

As the country shifts to its K+12 educational system, the conference talked about mentoring, rekindling the love for teaching and different teaching strategies that these early grades teachers might need as they hold vital roles in every child’s crucial age as it is during this time that the child is prepared for things he will be needing to face life.

The speakers also reminded everyone of the concept of akin VS atin (mine vs ours) encouraging teachers to think about others rather than just thinking about one’s self.

It was a very humbling experience; for though I have barely finished my second year of teaching, participants of the conference and even my co-mentors listened (intently, I believe) to what I have to say, and what limited knowledge I have to share that in the end, I learned from them as much as they learned from me.

Madamong nga salamat sa tanan!

As I left the conference and bid goodbye to Iloilo and its wonderful culture of language, people, and history, I fervently prayed and hoped that I have inspired at least one teacher in this Visayan island and proudly say that I have made a difference as a Filipino and as a teacher.

There is hope because I have seen it–at least glimpses of it.

6 thoughts on “Mentoring the Mentors

Leave a Reply

