Of Tables and Teaching

I have a table to show you.

Not that table.

Jotted this down with a rate of 10 words/second. I’m exaggerating, no doubt. But the first time I came across this table back in 2009  in a Masters class made me really curious. And being an undergraduate then I wondered, would this hold true for me when I graduate? Fast forward 3 years later. I’m done with my first year. Had myself check this again. Interesting. Confessions:

  • Yeah, I sometimes wonder about a career shift, say a teacher but this time training agents in a big insurance company. I heard education majors do good in this department.
  • What about the call center industry, they ‘effin make big bucks which makes my salary seem like poop.
  • Going abroad, anyone?

My second year of teaching is coming. Based on the table I am still surviving. How about you? I would love to hear your thoughts!😀

15 thoughts on “Of Tables and Teaching

  1. Di pa ko nags-start, concerns ko na agad yung nasa Survival stage. Pati yung confessions mo, they cross my mind as well. Hehe! But definitely looking forward to my first year of teaching. I’m sure it’s going to be a great learning experience for me. Babalikan ko to after one year :p thank you for this, Teacher JM! See you soon!🙂

    • Naguguilty tuloy ako sa nabasa mong post ko😛 haha pero look I chose to stay. That means something🙂 See ya! can’t w8 to work with all of you😀

  2. 6 months pa lang ako sa college teaching pero ayun, tinatanong ko na ang sarili ko kung kaya ko ba talaga gawin ito araw-araw. Plus the issue of pay. One big HAY.
    But I will be teaching high school kids (2nd yr and 4th yr) this coming school year, baka bigyan din ako ng teaching load sa college, and I will be enrolling my MAEd sa UP! Full steam ahead!😛
    One big gudlak to me!

    • nice😀 personally, I don’t think I can teach in High School. They have a lot of angst that I may not understand. Astig ka!😀

  3. I’m entering my 3rd year of teaching. Still trying to survive with all the changes and challenges🙂

    I love the developmental stages of a teacher. It’s like the business/economy cycle too.

    All the best for your 2nd year🙂

    I think the best way is to stay in teaching and learn to make good money on the side, like freelance writing and stock investing..hehe

  4. Encountered this table in MA too. On stage two but won’t be able to proceed to stage three until I’m back to teaching. I agree with Argee, you can do freelance writing on the side (like what I did).

    Nice blog by the way. Keep it up!

  5. I have worked in a call center before (during my undergrad) plus worked in two different private schools after graduation..I’d say your salary here in UPIS is NOT poop!:D

Leave a Reply

