Last Ring of the Bell for Now

The last bell for the school year 2010-2011 rang last March 18. As my children bade me farewell–with lots of hugs, autograph signing, simple gifts and loud buh-byes, I started to do a post pedagogical evaluation. In other words: Which parts did I mess up in my teaching?

But before that, a heartfelt gratitude must be written to all the beautiful people I met on my first year of teaching.  Thank you so much.

  • Big Boss. As I have always been telling my friends, it is easy to see HIM among children. Thank you so much for surrounding me with such love.
  • My students. I love you all. I still have a lot to work on as a teacher. Rest assured, all the fun and challenging times we spent were genuinely great.
  • My fellow teachers. I know we have been through a lot this year but nevertheless I have come to love all your peculiarities as I wish you have come to love mine.
  • Our beloved staff. Whoa! My first year of teaching would have been harder without you.

So what were my mistakes (as I see them, at least):

  • cramming a lot
  • getting too emotional at times
  • saying things I don’t do which makes me less credible, specially to my students regarding consequences
  • poor time management
  • needs more research
  • needs a better work system
  • even better teaching strategies

There you go. Things I need to improve on. Grades done! Workbook editing left to do🙂 Summer!

6 thoughts on “Last Ring of the Bell for Now

  1. Well done teach! You sure have a lot to experience in your teaching career but just always remember to do your best in everything. You’re a great teacher and your passion for teaching will soon lead you to success. God bless ^^

  2. As always, I’m so proud of my Boffy!🙂 Yeah you have a lot to work on and you did mistakes but I know you did GREAT! coz I know you put your heart on what you do and I know you love teaching.
    Congratulations!

    I miss you! ;p

  3. that just means that you really love this profession JM. Dapat kaya lahat ng teachers nagrereflect🙂

    as for the research part/ ideas/ strategies, I always go to proteacher.net

    sobrang dami ng mga bright ideas for teachers🙂

    • thanks for the link🙂 I’ll be checking it out

      Sana nga, first year pa lang e sana nga mahal rin ako ng teaching😀

Leave a Reply

