When my dream job isn’t my dream job anymore

I love teaching. I have come a long way to where I am right now. Everything I have planned seemed to be part of the Big Boss’ plan. I wanted this. I worked hard for this, but right now, I just found out my dream job isn’t my dream job anymore.

Every work place operates with a particular style. At the very least however, it should have a clear cut system of rules and regulations, rewards and sanctions. Studies have shown that species who have survived has the most sophisticated system and hierarchy among all species, take for instance bees, ants and lions. It doesn’t need a genius to figure out then that without a system, employees, customers and even employers will soon find themselves heading for chaotic mess.

Without a system, all persons in a specific workplace will burn out. Who is responsible for this? Who should be doing that? What happens if one doesn’t comply? What are the consequences of unruly conduct and the like? If no clear answer can be given to these questions, then the system is problematic.

No successful company or institution will survive and thrive on open forums (forums is preferred than fora), confrontations to solve issues and problems. In fact, these are very unprofessional means of dealing with certain issues for these methods involve a lot of bias, emotions and subjectivity. This is why mediations are best used, with a specific group of people responsible for the wellness of every one in the work force. One can’t just put in his hands what’s right and what’s wrong even if he thinks his institution is a “family.”

Sadly, however, a systematized institution isn’t possible or at least realistic to some institutions. And for institutions like these, I have concluded that the best way to co-exist with your colleagues is to take care of yourself and your career and be indifferent to others unless needed.

I feel overworked, fatigued and burnt out. TOO MUCH DRAMA, TOO MUCH ACTIONS WITHOUT THINKING, TOO MUCH WORDS UTTERED WITHOUT EVIDENCE.

Amidst all of these, where am I? Well, I didn’t go to school today because I don’t want to be part of it anymore. But I have given my word, and tomorrow I shall go back to work and enjoy the only thing that’s keeping me sane in this weird, unsystematized institution. The only thing that is my students.

21 thoughts on “When my dream job isn’t my dream job anymore

  1. i feel you, dude.

    it was a rocky start for me and my ‘not-dream’ job. i want out. but somebody gave me the best work-related advice: “you don’t have to be happy with your job.” true, because even if your job feeds you, clothes you, gives you your dough, it can’t give you all the satisfaction in the world. there are lucky ones who do, but not everyone is bound to get his dream job. if i got my dream job, (i.e. as a glam rockstar, or as an indie film director overseas, or as an editor-in-chief of a hot magazine, or as this country’s most corrupt and filthy rich president) i won’t have time for my family, or my friends, or my books, or music, or my spirituality anymore. i’d be a workaholic.

    my profession, no matter how tiring or how degrading it is… well, it doesn’t make me happy, but it humbled me enough, made me fight for the right reasons, taught me how to keep smiling even if things are getting pretty hellish.

    as for you, totoyguro, you’re one of them lucky ones. so just do what you have to do, and leave out all the dramas. your honeymoon phase is over. the real deal is about to start.

  2. oh that is sad..
    as a behaviorist, i always consider the environment as a significant factor may it be in teaching, learning or working.
    there are times when you can change a system so it would be more suitable for you but then you could only do so much. well another way is to get out of the system..which is no way a sign of cowardice or failure. if it is for the best then get out or you’ll lose yourself.

    • the things is, there will always be issues and complications in any workplace, how do you know if you’re quitting out of spite or quitting because you are not happy anymore?

  3. I guess there’s a need to rethink of the big picture first. Although there can be many interpretations for the term ‘dream job’, thinking of such means accepting the pros and cons of it wholeheartedly. In my perspective, a dream job is anything that you wouldn’t consider as ‘work’.

    Regarding the system, at times it is only superficial and even traditional, sprinkled with the issues of destructive politics. Without a system, only the ones who have strong foundations shall survive at the end and that’s why people should always be open to change. Anyone can always make a change and it starts from oneself before it flows outwards. However, the sad thing about it is that not all are open to change. Some would say that a person has to earn experience first before he/she can say/give suggestions. Obviously, such case is very limiting and it is not an open system.

    Well, in case there’s no system at all, why not design one? Besides, I don’t think that one shall lose something in the process of sharing ideas. Any company/institution shall survive using traditional practices/system but only in the short run.

    Whether it’s an open forum or mediation – as long as the persons concerned are open-minded then tackling any issue shouldn’t be a problem as long as the conversation is executed professionally.

    In any workplace, a worker should work smarter and not harder. Produce more and more while consuming lesser resources.

    Perhaps, the most significant of all is that change must exist in any system or person. I believe that the species who can adapt easiest to most changes shall survive in the end. If in case that the person is not in a progressive system, the person can always tap other environments alongside his/her usual environment. That’s why some persons have non-curricular/recreational projects or activities that will remind them to take a break from work. @claricious is right – you’ll become a workaholic if you’ll only work and work forever. We work hard to earn for a living, we don’t live to work.🙂

    As for the dramas, there’s no room for those. Just treat such problems as challenges. Lastly, I guess it’s better to just move on and focus on the lighter side of the fence and do it with an optimistic mind.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks so much🙂 This really helped put things in perspective.
      Just one question, I agree with you BIG TIME that there is no room for Drama but what if there are really a lot of Drama happening–Unecessary actions done, words spoken, interpretations made, that can really dampen the spirit even without being involved directly?

    • This is the most honest answer I can give you:

      I don’t know yet. But I am sure going to find out for myself. I am not going to leave and quit just like that🙂

  4. @ Vicka🙂 don’t just swim. Make sure you’re wearing your goggles to look, learn and dodge people who might be negatively affecting you once in the pool🙂

    • hmmmm. Well I hope you feel better soon. You know what, despite these sentiments, I’m quite sure we’ll see good things in our work. There are always good and nice things, right?😀

  5. You are still young. I can understand your sentiments because similar things have happened to me. Trust me, in any industry there will always be politics. Even labor laws and due process won’t necessarily maintain the ideal workplace you have envisioned while you were in college. Real life is different, and sometimes you have to deal with ugly truths.

    But you should hang on to your idealism, your principles. I guess that’s part of the challenge of becoming a responsible adult- being strong and untainted by the corruption around you.

    If teaching is really your passion and it gives meaning to your life, then you will endure all these challenges. I have no doubt you will! It is a long road ahead, I wish you all the best.

    • Thanks Thad!

      I sure hope so. I will give it my effin’ best😛 I really am trying to hold on to my ideals and principles. Thanks for reminding me again. I want to be the thermostat not the thermometer😀

  6. Hi I am currently a Nursing graduate, but I want to be a teacher. Not a teacher of Nursing, but either a preschool or a gradeschool teacher. Can you give me steps to take in order to fulfill this?

    • hi🙂 well for one please, do my a favor and ask yourself–
      do I really want to be a teacher?

      If you say yes, then you can take up teaching units in a University which will allow you to take the Licensure Examination for Teachers (LET).

      You can also try and apply at small schools as most accept teachers who are not yet full equipped with teaching knowledge but are willing to learn and grow as pedagogues🙂

      Hope I helped!

Leave a Reply

